Welcome!

Having never done this before, I found myself at a loss about how to begin. I slept on it, which is always a good idea, by the way, and decided that the easy way to begin is to tell you a little about myself. Some of you have been reading my stories for years and some of you had absolutely no idea that I was writing them. Everyone who reads this now hopefully knows that I’ve been published. My first novel, published through Republica Press is called “Agent Alpha” and the sequel is “Undercover.” I hope you’ll read them!

That’s all the product plugging you’ll see from me on that. Of course, in the future, I hope to have more publication news to share with you and I hope that you’ll use this blog as a way to stay updated about my books.

I’ve always been a bit of a writer. Growing up, I’d make up back stories for my toys. The My Little Ponies weren’t just plastic horses with oddly large eyes, they were Sam and Mary and had rebellious streaks a mile wide. Sounds silly but eventually I worked my imagination into the written word. So the stories became less about the toys and more about the fantasy worlds I created.

My first typewriter was an old-school, manual, ink-ribbon typewriter. I wrote my first novels on that thing before I was fifteen. (Actually, come to think of it, I wrote my first novels longhand, complete with shoddy coverart.) Then I graduated to an electric typewriter and wrote even more. Eventually I joined the mainstream around age twenty-one and got a computer. That made writing and formatting considerably easier. This may not sound all that impressive, but I was still using a typewriter in 2001, when computers were, well, everywhere.

In any case, I eventually sought an outlet for my writing. I couldn’t bring myself to share with friends or family. It would have been too embarrassing if what I wrote turned out to be utter garbage. On the other hand, I may never have known just how bad it was if my family and friends couldn’t give me honest opinions. I knew I liked what I wrote but that didn’t mean it would be popular with the general public.

Surfing the web at random one night brought me to Literotica. I became a reader first, a fan and ‘regular’ of certain authors already on the site. Then I decided to take the plunge and post something myself. My first effort was terrible, I’ll readily admit it. It received mixed reviews at best, but some encouraging enough for me to continue. So I did.

I’ve made a few friends through the website, people I still chat with off and on, and I enjoy getting the feedback from everyone who comments. I’ve branched out from the one site and now also submit my short work to Erotica Republic. Again, I’ve met some people through that site and it was through ER’s partner site, Republica Press that I published “Agent Alpha.” Erotica Republic has since closed down. The owners of the site wanted to devote all their time and energy to the publishing site instead.

I hope in the future to publish more in that series, as well as other novels in different genres. Any writer will agree that we can’t just write on one topic or in one theme. Many of us have multiple things on the go at any given time and the real work is in deciding what to devote the majority of our time to.

Let’s see now…what else can I share about myself that won’t bore you…

I’m an avid reader. At time I have a dilemma in deciding between writing my own stuff or reading something someone else has written. I try to strike a balance and having a full-time job keeps me too busy and tired to do either sometimes.

My absolute favourite author is Guy Gavriel Kay. He’s written several books and he has a fascinating way of taking a period in history and creating a fantasy story around it. I bought his latest, “Under Heaven,” recently and I’m trying to get through my current book so I can start on that one.

Some of the other authors I enjoy reading are Diana Gabaldon, Jennifer Roberson, L.J. Smith – I read her novels before she became popular again and before the TV show started – Christopher Moore is another fantastic writer. I’d recommend “Lamb” to everyone. Seriously, go read it. I’ll wait here.

Let’s see, who else do I read regularly… Jane Austen of course. I can read and reread her classics any time. Tamora Pierce, Morgan Llywelyn, Scott Lynch – he’s only got two novels out so far, in a series he calls “The Gentleman Bastard Sequence.” They are both fantastic and I’d definitely recommend him. There are numerous others I could list… Elizabeth Gaskell, J.R. Ward, Nicole Galland, James McGee, Jim Butcher… the list goes on and on. My bookcases overflow with my collection of favourites. In any case, you could do a little research into a few of these authors and quickly see how varied my tastes are.

I’m also an avid hockey fan. You may sometimes see posts about recent games. Don’t worry, I won’t swamp the blog with all hockey news. That would get old fast for non-fans. But man, you’d be missing out!

I suppose I should tell you a little about why I wanted to start a blog.  Mostly, I just wanted one outlet to update on my writing – short, long, published or otherwise – rather than trying to operate a facebook, MySpace and author page. I’m not that tech savvy and I don’t have the time for that. So one blog it is. I won’t always be just writing about my writing. How boring would that be?! I will occasionally write about what I’m reading, or the movies I’m watching, or whatever comes into my mind that day.

I think this should cover things for a while. I intend to write once a week at least, even if it’s something brief. I enjoy responses and look forward to hearing from those of you interested in writing to me. Thanks for taking the time to read this first post and I am excited about writing more!

Take care and happy reading!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Welcome!

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere! I’ve been following your work for some time now and am excited to see new stories from you 🙂

    Congrats on the publication as well!

    P.S. You’re totally the reason I’m into hockey now 😉

  2. April

    Hi! I’m so excited that you started a new story today. 🙂 I found you on the Literotica site sometime last year and then blazed through the stories you already posted lol. It sucked to have to wait after that LOL. I’m always going back and forth on whether I like to have the book to read but have to wait about a year for the next book or to read these chapters on Lit an only wait a week or two. :). It’s a delimma. Heheh!
    I am a hockey fan…. Maybe not as ‘hardcore’ lol as you but I love to watch the games. I’m from Mississippi and we have the Mississippi Surge formerly the Seawolves. I absolutely love going to the games. It’s all rough and tough and awesome! I have to admit I am a ln avid fan of the fights lol.
    Anyways, I didn’t know about your books! I’m gonna have to look them up :).

  3. Jim

    I’ve read all you works on lit, and you one of my favorite authors there. Thanks for the new one today.

  4. Cheryl

    QUITE SIMPLY FANTASTIC!

  5. Shannon

    I found your stuff on Literotica by accident. And fell in love with your stories. I live in the DC area and attend most of the Washington Capitals games (perk of being a season ticket holder before they started winning again). I love all of the hockey stories even if there are ones about #28 and #52… Wish #55 would make a appearance.

Leave a Reply

