An Expression of Gratitude.

I was struggling with what to write for my entry this week. Not only am I exhausted from fighting some icky sickness that’s creeping up on me, but work is getting busier, my writing is already starting to fall behind, and I’m not sleeping so well at night for some reason. I thought about skipping tonight and maybe blogging tomorrow but I didn’t want to fall even more behind.

I started thinking about everyone’s comments from last week’s entry and I thought it was high time I did a proper thank you to everyone who’s been so supportive, now and in the past.

I did rant on a bit about my dislike for editing and some of you had some really great suggestions. I may not reply all the time, but I do read each and every comment and I do pay attention. I still don’t like editing, I probably never will but that’s OK. I can make it easier on myself and having such a supportive on-line community makes it easier.

First of all, I didn’t mention her specifically, mostly because she already knows my foibles when it comes to writing and editing, but I do have a beta reader. Someone suggested that in a comment, or maybe a couple of you, and I thank you for the offer to beta read my work. I have a hard time dealing with input from too many people โ€“ hell, I have a hard time dealing with feedback from one person sometimes! โ€“ so I don’t want to get into sending it to too many people. I do thank you for the offer and I’m so glad you felt strongly enough about my work to offer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Back to the beta reader I have… She’s awesome. I don’t tell her often enough, I don’t think. I do thank her in my notes sometimes but I also whine and complain via email and AIM. Somehow, she remains patient and doesn’t tell me to suck it up and get over it. Well, not every time we chat. ๐Ÿ˜‰ She is familiar with my style and doesn’t try to impose too many ideas, unless I ask. She’s also aware that even though my initial reactions to her feedback and criticisms are not always…favourable, I’m taking her comments into consideration. In short, she’s a great reader, editor and friend. You all know her as PennLady or Eve McFadden. Also, she’s a fantastic writer. I’m absolutely in love with some of her characters. Check out All To Human or Light and the Darkness for two of my most favourite leading men. Can you say, yummy?!? ๐Ÿ˜€

Now, even though I have PL and all her wonderful feedback, that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the feedback, comments and emails I receive from the fans, anonymous or otherwise. Why do you think I keep writing for Lit??? Once again, I don’t always respond but when someone makes a request or asks a question, I do my best to meet demands. I hope you know how much it means to have the support.

I am aware I’m repeating myself a bit here, and you’ll have to excuse me. I’m running on about 3 or 4 hours of sleep and a long day of writing and editing. Argh! I don’t even have hockey to blog in between my writerly ramblings.

Speaking of hockey though, how excited am I for the Canucks in the final!! GO Canucks! I’m sure you’ve all noticed my updated background here. I just wanted to show my support. I’ve already got plans to see the first game at a nearby pub on Wednesday night. It should be a fantastic series, that’s all I’ve got to say.

And now, I really ought to get back to editing the next chapter of “Breaking Through the Ice.” I’m doing my best to stay on schedule, but like I already said, I’m fighting some exhaustion here and this week’s chapter might be a day late. I’ll do what I can tonight.

Did I say thank you yet? For reading my stuff, for taking the time to visit my blog and comment when the desire moved you? Did I say thank you again and again for not giving up on me even when I confessed my writing flubs and insecurities?

Well then.

Thank you.

As always, take care and happy reading.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “An Expression of Gratitude.

  1. Lady Falcon

    You are more than welcome Tamara. I think I can safely say for most everyone who comments on your bloggers…we love you. We wouldn’t have followed you here if we didn’t. And I think most of us are aware of yours and PL’s friendship. And aware of her fantastic writing. If I remember right I found PL by searching out nonhuman stories (I adore “Light and the Darkness”) then I read her hockey stories and was so thrilled by them that I wanted to find more. When I find a new author I really like I always check out their favorites and start reading…its always sort of a validation when I see authors there I already recognize and enjoy but lo and behold I found you in her favorites and a love affair was born. lol Do, in short, take it easy. GET SOME SLEEP…..your writing and editing and every thing else in your life will only suffer if you aren’t well rested. On a side note….I was flipping channels the other night and saw a hockey game was on…I figured well, I like the fictional so much…lets see what all the fuss is about….it didn’t hurt that I had just finished re-reading “Hockey 101”. So I watched the last period of the Bruins 7th game for the East Coast Championship. I was able to mostly keep up with the puck and I could see how if emotionally vested in one of the teams I could get excited…after all I yell at the TV when I watch an NFL game. It probably would have helped if I knew what the plays were and stuff so I knew when to be upset of excited. But, I watched the interviews afterward and saw several hotties….so, now, I have an even better appreciation for your stories now. lol Take care and go to sleep.

  2. I’d like to say thanks to both Tamara and LadyFalcon. ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy reading, writing and editing, although I often have to limit editing others so that I don’t block myself out of my own writing time. And yes, Tamara, get some sleep (do as I say, not as I do — or in this case, often do not. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  3. Lady Falcon

    Eve, why thanks to me? Why does your name sound so familiar? I’m gonna be embarrassed I forgot when you tell me…I just know it. Oh, wait a minute…it clicked, I think. Eve are you PL? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lady Falcon

    K. I watched game 3…only the last period cause I had to wait for control of the tv. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I figured out what a power play is but not why or how they come about. If its say, a Vancouver pp then Boston can’t score-they can only defend there goal, right?

    • Amanda

      Power play for Vancouver means that they have a man advantage. Boston has committed a penalty and have a man in the penalty box. So the are 5 skaters for vancouver and 4 for Boston. This is not including the goalies. On a minor penalty the player can get out early if the other team scores.

    • Amanda covered the points pretty well here, but your other question was about whether or not Boston could score while they’re a man short. It’s not that they’re not allowed to score on a penalty, but much more difficult. They’re struggling to keep the net defended and their plays aren’t centered around advancing up the ice to the other zone. It happens though, and the goal that results when a team is down because of a penalty is called a short-handed goal. Very technical, right? LOL.
      Also, they only played Game 2 last night. First two games of any playoff series are in one city (in this case, Vancouver, the team with more points in the regular season) and the 3rd and 4th games are in the next city, Boston. After that, if needed, the 5th game would be in Vancouver again, back to Boston for the 6th, and finish in Vancouver for the 7th, again, if it goes that far.
      So, did you enjoy the game at least? I had a great time watching it, but keeping the cussing to a minimum was difficult. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Amanda

    On another note. Nice work Tamara on this series. (Lawerence and her sister can bring it. She’s happy and gaining confidence in herself.)

    Don’t worry about posting a day late. There are some writers who take months to post a new chapter. Just keep yourself healthy.

  6. Lady Falcon

    TY Amanda and Tamara. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great descriptions. It will help me understand what I am watching. No, its not too technical…I asked and you answered beautifully.
    The PP I caught in the 3rd period was Vancouver’s and I noticed several times the puck went up the ice toward the Vancouver goal but Boston never followed it up and just waited for it to come back down. Makes sense now if they are a man short and trying to focus on guarding their own goal.
    Short-handed goal! I’ve heard that term in one of the stories. I’m gonna have to go thru and re-read now…so, I can be more impressed. lol ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yeah, I figured out tonight while I was watching highlights that it was game 2 not game 3. oops. Yes, I did enjoy what little bit I saw. And I have already scoped out what the channel # is for the VS network on my Dish box. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, all this week I am at church late because of Vacation Bible School so I might have to catch reruns if I watch it. Anyway, its fun watching and then talking about it. And cussing is perfectly allowable when watching sports. It’s the adrenalin…so let the passion fly in whatever shape it takes! lol I miss playing on a team…softball and soccer were my team sports…and I really miss the adrenalin rushes.

  7. Lady Falcon

    OMG! 8-1 Boston.
    That appeared to be a particularly violent 3rd quarter…idk if it truly was because I know next to nothing about hockey but it was interesting to watch. I am listening to the commentary trying to figure out why everybody was on such a short fuse. Hopefully one of you ladies will feel like explaining it to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ k. got to go back and listen to the commentary…commercial is done. lol
    Oh wait, I get to use my vocabulary word for this week. I was excited by getting to see the short handed goal Boston scored and even more that I knew what it was before the announcer said anything. giggling…love it!

    • Amanda

      Ok. I’m going to try and take this one. First off Boston has been known as a ‘fighter’ type of team. They are known for hits and getting in your face. On top of that Boston’s Horton was injured with a late hit. So emotions focused on winning for him and not get bad penalties played a factor. They were in Vancouver’s face a lot. Next I would say that any confrontation that looks like it might become a fight pulls in the rest of the team and the fans in and really creates an intensity that you can feel. Boston really found a way to stifle Vancouver and found a way to improve parts of their game that they haven’t been very good at. Also when a team starts to lose by such a large spread frustration usually occurs and the cheap shots start on both sides. There’s probably a bunch of technical stuff I’m forgetting but I’m tired and pregnant so my brain isn’t working. Hope this helps a bit.

  8. Lady Falcon

    Sure Amanda, it helps. I got from commentary that there was an injured player. It doesn’t matter what team sport is being played…when there is an injured teammate and a large spread in score…”frustration and cheap shots” will reign supreme.
    I want a new vocabulary word and there was a call of icing last night so I am going to reread that part of hockey 101 and see if I can figure it out. I remember when Tamara explained it through her characters the reply was close enough and icing was a difficult one…so, I’ll see what I can figure out from the re-read. lol Ok, I know its a lame excuse to re-read a favorite author but, eh, who really needs an excuse to re-read a good story.
    I hope you are well Amanda and blessings on your pregnancy. I just got a 3rd grandchild a couple months ago. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I have an 8 yr old daughter besides the two adult children. In short…kids are amazing.

Leave a Reply

