So Pleased to Meet You.

Hello all.

Forgive me for not writing for so long. Life is funny and lately, the joke has been on me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ah, it’s not all bad. My life’s recent upheaval has taught me a few things. One, I’m a lot stronger than I thought. Two, getting drunk doesn’t change anything โ€“ in fact, it sometimes causes more problems. HA! ๐Ÿ˜€ And finally, but more important than the rest, I am blessed with friends and family who would do anything for me.

How often are we able to say that? Hell, how often do you even have to acknowledge it? If you’re lucky, never. On the other hand, it seems rather sad to think you could go through your whole life never knowing about how much people love and care for you.

It got me thinking: how do you find these people that become touchstones for love and understanding? We’re all born to a family who love and care for us, sure, but how do you meet the people who become your ‘chosen’ family? Your friends, lovers, confidantes? Where and when do they cross your path and how do they become more than a passing acquaintance?

Of course, in writing what I do, I’m constantly asking myself: what’s a good, plausible way for the male and female lead to ‘meet cute’?

I’ve used several different scenarios, including the best friends angle and meeting through friends. Those seem very logical as far as meeting someone naturally, right? Who hasn’t met another friend through a friend, or met a boyfriend/girlfriend through other acquaintances? I’ve been set up through friends on blind dates โ€“ that has yet to work out ๐Ÿ˜‰ โ€“ and I’ve made new friends through others, most notably through a book club I am lucky to have joined.

I’ve also used less conventional methods of bringing two people together. I had two of them meet through a random bar encounter. Two others met because of a contest. Two became better acquainted on a plane. Two more met at a Starbucks and kept ‘running’ into each other at other Starbucks locations. Maybe not all that unusual for some of these, but a dose of realism makes it easier to pass off in a story. ๐Ÿ™‚

Just out of curiosity, which is your favourite way that I’ve brought two lead characters together? Is there a reason why you like that one best?

I have never met anyone by any of those methods I’ve used in my stories. Actually… I have made friends by one of my methods of introduction. Bet you can’t guess which one. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, all right, I’ll tell you. Do you remember “Uncovering the Ice” and how those two leads met? Although it was never as…antagonistic as I wrote it in that story, I’ve made some very good friends through my writing. People I’ve never laid eyes on, and yet, they make me smile and laugh and somehow manage to hug me through the internet just when I need it the most.

I’ve wandered from my original topic here but considering the state of my mind, you should be impressed I’ve come this far. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just love thinking about how I’ve been so lucky in my friends and loved ones. I can’t help it right now, not when they’ve been surrounding me with the love and affection I’ve been needing.

I suppose I’ll wrap this up this week by saying thank you to my friends and family for being here for me. For surprising and humbling me with their unconditional love and support. For holding me and telling me that it will all be all right in the end.

To all my fun and friendly fans, thank you for your support as well. I haven’t written much of anything lately, never mind keeping up with my blog, as you can tell. I promise, I have a few things in the works and something new will turn up before long.

As always, take care and happy reading.

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to “So Pleased to Meet You.

  1. jam

    my favorite meeting of gf/bf would be as long time friends…i have always wished it happen with my lovelife but alas, it wasn’t meant to be ๐Ÿ™‚

    i don’t know, i guess it’s romantic for me that one will have a one true love for the rest of your life whom you’re so in tune with…not necessarily have similar in every way – just be similar enough to get along well but have enough differences to make things interesting…have someone you trust completely and understands and knows you and accepts your quirks and eccentricities and vice versa….

  2. Van

    My favorite would be…MT and Mary’s way of meeting. He just wandered around hoping to make new friends and he didn’t even realize that it was something more. I like that Mary felt the need to hold back her feelings because she thought it was enough, their friendship that is. But her blurting out certain things about his good qualities made it more cute and fun to read. As for Max I thought he was dumb enough to not see his feelings but that made it more real. I think sometimes it’s hard to see something like lust for love especially when it’s a friendship you are not sure that you are willing to risk. I’m sure the element of friendship brings two people together for lifetime friends those relationships I have to admit that respect very much because it shows that they have deeper feelings and it started out with just two people wanting to get to know each other causally.

  3. This was hard, but I think I have to go for Lena and Obie meeting on the airplane. Nothing like small spaces to force people into each others’ company. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Lady Falcon

    My favorite in one of your stories (ie…the way you wrote it) was in “Uncovering the Ice”. I laughed so hard during that one there were times I was crying. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My favorite overall type to read is the friends angle. I’ve mentioned before why that is my favorite somewhere in one of my marathon length replies to one of your blog entries. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m 99.9% sure I’m one of the “fun and friendly fans”, lol, and all I can say is you are worth the wait so no worries.

    I would like to be one of the…
    “People Iโ€™ve never laid eyes on, and yet, they make me smile and laugh and somehow manage to hug me through the internet just when I need it the most.”
    …I really hope I make you smile on occasion and even laugh because you certainly do that for me in your stories and your blogs. And anytime you need a hug – consider yourself hugged!

    I am gonna refer to and be guilty of something that used to drive me crazy, lol, and I know Canada is huge and has an equally big population, but…
    …for the past year or so, I am “discovering” Canadians everywhere and that I apparently really like them. (generalizations – guilty)
    First, my insane crush on Richard Dean Anderson (I think he looks like my hubby when he is wearing a USAF uniform as in Stargate SG-1) so, it’s ok that he is on my list, right, cause he could pass for my hubby? lol
    Second, a Canadian couple my hubby talks with on a motorcycle BBS came by for a few hours when they were in the area so we can meet in person. We went out to eat and then hung at our house for a nice visit. (They brought us some Maple Syrup in a bottle shaped like a Maple leaf – how cool is that!) They also informed me there are better Canadian Whiskies than ‘Crown Royal’. I was crushed because…
    …Third, ‘Crown Royal’ is my alcoholic beverage of choice on the rare occasions I drink.
    Fourth, there is a new series on ABC called ‘Combat Hospital’ . (think ‘Tour of Duty’ updated for the current world – which is why I started watching it to begin with) Come to find out…the medical unit is a joint Canadian-American unit. My favorite characters are the Canadian ones! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Fifth, one of my favorite authors on the internet is a Canadian hockey nutcase that I dearly love reading – no matter what she writes. Wanna have a try at an encyclopedia? *giggling*

    So, that is my love affair with Canada – and I’ve never been! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Someday, maybe someday.

  5. Alice

    I like the meeting on the airplane. I had a similar situation happen in real life (less romantic, more business no happily ever after). However, My favorite meeting was actually from Eve McFadden’s “Breaking through the Ice” It was at the Museum between Anatoli and Sara. It put them in a context that they shared but forced them to act outside their normal life.

    As a veteran mover around the globe, meeting people can be a real challenge. Really native personality traits come into action. Agressive, out-going sales people will walk right up to someone and introduce themselves. Being from the geek side, I always have to take lessons or a class to meet new people. Tennis, golf, scuba diving, and language classes bring together people with diverse backgrounds.

    Another place people meet is when they are waiting. The dentist office, the mechanic, the airport, especially when people dread the outcome. Nerves about an unrelated third topic such as a root canal or the repair bill make help start conversations between unlikely companions.

  6. Rhee

    I don’t remember the tittle of the story, but my favorite was the neighbors who get together. There is just something so comfortable about falling in love in the familiar surroundings of your home or neighborhood. I like that feeling that someone “fits into” my everyday life.

    I’m kind of new to responding on your blog though I have been reading your stories for a year or so now, but I just wanted to let you know how much enjoyment I get out of reading your stories. I’m not sure what your current stressors have been, but I hope all comes together for the good in the end. I am glad you are surrounded by such warm and supportive people. Hang in there and know you are appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

