That’s Different.

Since y’all know what I write on a regular basis, I’m not shy in admitting that I often find myself thinking about sex and how to make it more interesting. 😉 Did I shock you? Ha! Maybe I should phrase it a little differently… I often find myself thinking of how to describe a setting and scene that’s sexy and interesting and fresh, all at the same time.

It sounds like a simple enough task, doesn’t it? Well, it’s quite a challenge sometimes to write a romantic love scene that’s somehow different from all the rest, and yet, not something so out there that people are turned off of the romance. It’s challenging to make a scene realistic and sweet, but stimulating and pulse-pounding at the same time. Do you know what I mean?

In my early “Ice” stories, it was apparent to a few readers how I repeated certain ‘moves’ or phrases between different stories. I won’t point them out – why the hell would I point out my flaws? 😀 – but I’m sure some of you know what I’m talking about. If not, well, there’s no reason why you can’t reread them all. 😉 Anyway, my point is, I was guilty of falling back on the same old moves in each of my stories. As I grew and developed as a writer, I learned how to change things up and throw in different scenarios to keep it interesting, but not vulgar.

I think sometimes the worst part isn’t just repeating. It’s being too vanilla. Think of how much a romance or erotica story is about the chemistry between the two lead characters. There are hot touches, scorching looks and teasing banter… It all leads slowly to the first kiss, and after that, the first round of sex. Imagine how much you as a reader look forward to that first moment when they consummate. Now imagine how we writers feel, trying to create a scene that will live up to the expectations of all the readers. It’s a challenge, like I said.

I also find it amusing how different readers comment on different moments in my stories. Some find the tiniest details funny or arousing, where others take note of the obvious seductions.

For example, I’ve had a few people comment on the bathtub scene in “The Ice-Breaker,” or the scene with the X-Box. Both were different from anything I’d written before and I never thought they were all that impressive but it’s so fun to receive the different comments. Hey, it’s why I do what I do. 😉

Of course, I also have some of my characters getting busy pretty damn quick. See “Melting the Ice” or “Keeping Ice on the Wound” for examples of that. I’ve had some feedback about those, and usually, readers enjoy them. On the other hand, I have had a few negative comments about the romance lacking in those scenarios. Ah, well, to each their own.

Sometimes, I get so bogged down in the details of writing, that I miss the fun part of writing these scenes. I’m worried about this word, or that comma, or the length of this paragraph. I’ve found that the best scenes come out when I’m not trying to remember all the technical details. Recently, I’ve had trouble writing much of anything, never mind writing sex. It happens now and again, and I find the best way to get going is just to write something. Anything, really, even if it’s a story that will never see the light of day.

Like the one I’ve been working on for the past few weeks. I don’t spend a lot of time on it but when I’ve had the time and energy to do so, I’ve opened this file and just written whatever came to mind. It was so easy. I wasn’t worried about anything technical. It’s been all about feeling it. Too wishy-washy? Maybe. Maybe other writers out there agree with me. Maybe you readers are wondering what it is I’ve been working on? LOL, you’ll never know.

Anyway, I just wanted to share these wandering thoughts this week and let you know that I haven’t gone away. I will be posting something again eventually and until then, you can all just wonder what it’ll be. 🙂 *insert evil laughter here*

Take care and happy reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Free Stories, Writing

2 responses to “That’s Different.

  1. Great post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much.

    Thanks again for posting this.

    Today’s Writing – Raining Purple Rain

  2. Lady Falcon

    Evil laugh? I can so hear it. I was just thinking a paragraph before…oh how cruel…we will never get to know what she is writing right now?
    *maniacally obsessive giggle*
    I love it! Does that mean I have masochistic tendencies? lol

Leave a Reply

