How to Make Apple Pie.

In Canada, it’s Thanksgiving tomorrow. It’s a nice long weekend for me, no work until Tuesday. 🙂 I’m spending the weekend at my family’s home. An aunt and uncle are here, visiting from Winnipeg, and we’ve all been spending the days and nights enjoying each other’s company.

Every year around this time, I do a weekend of baking. I bake during the rest of the year – cookies, brownies, cupcakes, etc. – but earlier this week, a friend gave me a box of apples from the tree in his yard. So, yesterday, I baked apple pies.

Have you ever baked an apple pie? It’s really one of the most simple desserts to make. (Assuming you don’t make your own pastry, which I don’t. I just never learned.) It takes time, to peel, core and cut the apples, but in the end, it’s still a very basic recipe. I start by cooking all the apple slices in a big pot on the stove, with a random mixture of white and brown sugar, cinnamon and flour. I cook them until the apples are soft and the scent of the mixture is all I can smell. Then I scoop the apples into the pie crusts and bake until they’re done. See? Simple.

Yesterday, I started peeling the apples before noon and my nephew – he’s 3 – helped for a bit. By help, I mean that he told me which apple to peel next. 😉 Once he was bored with that, I was on my own for a bit. Then my mom sat down to help me. I kept peeling while she started coring and cutting the apples in half. It didn’t take long to finish that bunch of apples between the two of us and a short while later, we had the fantastic smell of apples and cinnamon all through the house. When it came time for more apples and pies, my sister-in-law gave me the extra pot and tools I needed to cut down on my prep time. My aunt helped me with covering the pies once the crusts were filled. After all that, my mom kicked me out of the kitchen so that she could do the clean up with my aunt helping her.

Later, after dinner, I sat on the sofa with my family around me, and they were all eating the pie they said I’d baked and thanking me for the effort. I don’t know about that. I had help from everyone at some point or another. Tomorrow, I’ll be making a couple more pies, some tarts, and my dad will be making his favourite apple dessert, Apple Brown Betty. I’ll have the same people helping me and talking with me and laughing with me all day long.

Because it’s Thanksgiving, I guess I just wanted to let you all know what I’m thankful for. I am blessed to have the family that I do. I’m lucky that they’re so helpful and fun to spend time with. I’m thankful for them, end of story.

Do you really want to know how to make an apple pie? Take one box of apples, stir in a family’s love, bake until warm and golden, then serve with a smile.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Take care and happy reading.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “How to Make Apple Pie.

  1. donalde

    Happy Thanksgiving

  2. blue

    happy thanksgiving…such a heartwarming anecdote 🙂

  3. Susan W.

    Happy Thanksgiving! I made apple pies yesterday too. Although I make my own crust and do a crumb topping. Amazing how different the recipes are but very simple. Mine were delicious! Love homemade apple pie!

  4. Lady Falcon

    Amen, Sister!

  5. mac2

    What impressed me most here was the wonderful family togetherness. Is that as rare in Canada as it is where I live? From your description, my own family is much like yours … we actually like each other and enjoy spending time together. But there are so many people I know who never get together with family and say they don’t care to … they have nothing nice to say about their relatives. To be us … you and me … we are truly blessed! I’m glad you had that special time together.

Leave a Reply

