A Fork in the Road

So often, you hear or read a story where the most innocent decision can take someone down a road they never knew was before them. What happens then is sometimes pretty mainstream. Other times, it’s fantastical – think vampires and werewolves and faeries, Oh my! – and still other times, it will be a believable story, yet somehow unbelievable. Have I lost you completely?

It’s all right. I might not make much sense in this post. For one thing, I’m not writing on my usual day. For another thing, I’m going on holidays tomorrow, which is why I’m writing today instead. And…I’m there. Or maybe I’m past it already. I’ve made the decision and now I’m walking the road. 🙂

In any case, I wanted to talk about how these simple decisions can change the course of a life – or when it comes to writing fiction – how they can change the course of a story. I sometimes try to start a story with an every day occurrence. Something like going to work, or stopping for coffee on the way. Maybe even going to the gym or doing the grocery shopping. Somehow, someone bumps into my protagonist, or someone drops something in their path. A conversation starts, phone numbers are exchanged, etc, etc. Or maybe someone decides to walk the five blocks to the gym instead of taking the bus. They come across a woman who dropped her purse, spilling its contents. Again, there’s some conversation and maybe even a phone call to follow up. Average, everyday occurrences right? Sometimes the decisions made are even more simple than that. Choosing to ignore a phone call or answer an email can change the course of your life too. Take my word on that one. 😉

From those simple, everyday choices, the most amazing stories can spring up. What about the woman who could have said no to her cousin when he offered to take her to a hockey game, and the chance to meet a hockey player? 😉 What about the writer who might have decided not to respond to that heated, angry email? What if they had made different choices? Well, the obvious answer is that I wouldn’t have ended up with those two stories.

So much of what I write is because I constantly ask, what if they did this? Or what if they didn’t. Even if it seems like the decision or change won’t affect things, I always wonder if I can make it a part of what happens next. And that becomes a part of what happens after that. And so on, and so forth. Before you know it, you’re in the midst of something amazing and there’s no tracing how it got to that point. Unless, of course, you return and reread the entire story.

I like thinking about how the simplest things can chance everything. It’s amazing to think that something you do every day can bring you to the person you’re meant to be with. Or stepping outside your comfort zone can introduce you to new friends you might have missed out on otherwise. I love knowing that taking the chance and sharing my work on Literotica all those years ago has led me to this point. 🙂 By this point, I mean all you dozens of folks reading my blog and searching for my work on Lit. 😉 And now is a good time to thank everyone who voted for me in the Literotica Reader’s Choice Awards this year. My story, chapter two of “A Feel for the Ice” was voted Top Romance story for 2010! So thank you very much for your support and votes.

Well, I made no promises for groundbreaking discoveries here today. I warned you at the beginning that my mind is elsewhere, already on vacation. Already well on my way down that path I mentioned before.

Wish me luck!

As always, take care and happy reading.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “A Fork in the Road

  1. Lady Falcon

    Have a wonderful vacation and a wonderful journey. I hope writing is still apart of your life as you embark on this new direction that this mysterious decision has pointed you toward. Fair winds and calm seas Tamara.
    Take Care,
    Sharon

  2. mac2

    Goodness, this sounds like you are doing more than going on a holiday for a week or two … it sounds like you are leaving writing and us … like you are bidding us a fond farewell … and Lady Falcon’s comments sounded like she knew more than I do and instead of bidding you a bon voyage, she was also saying farewell. I don’t mind if you take off on holiday, but I DO hope you plan to come back and continue writing your wonderful romance stories. Now, thinking of how choosing this or that can change a life … it would certainly change my life if you stopped writing!
    Enjoy the holiday, but please come back and write some more soon. 🙂

    • Lady Falcon

      I am positive I do not know more than you, mac. 🙂 As all I know is what I feel and the Lord knows my feelings have been wrong before.

      That being said, Tamara’s last couple posts have steadily struck me as though she was at a crossroads and thinking hard on the direction she was going to take. I have no idea if this is true or completely silly of me, but its what I feel.

      I too hope she continues to write. I hope she continues to write because she is good. I also don’t want to give up reading her. At the same time, I want her to be confident in her choices and happy with them as well…life is entirely too short to live it any other way than being happy.

Leave a Reply

