Sharing Recipes #3 – Not Quite a Recipe

I wanted to bake something new for you this weekend. I really did. But I had two Christmas parties yesterday and no time to bake. Hey, that’s bound to happen to everyone at this time of year, right? I was left wondering what to do or what possible recipe I could share today. As I have no energy today either – yes, it was a late night and I’m not sorry at all, thank you!! – I don’t think I’ll be going on and on about what a wonderful time of year this is. And it really is. 🙂

I woke up this morning, nice and late, for me anyway. I took my time getting dressed and all that, and then I went to a nearby Starbucks. When faced with no time or energy for baking or blogging, you can’t go wrong with caffeine and comfy chairs. And a pastry. Oh, and a new book.

That was my morning. I wanted to let you know that it’s all right sometimes to just have a quiet hour to yourself. If you have kids and/or 60-hour-a-week jobs, obviously spare time is usually reserved for extra sleep. Given the opportunity though, don’t feel guilty about taking off and hiding for a while by yourself. At this time of year, it’s so easy to get stressed and lash out at those close to you. If the difference between a nasty fight and holiday harmony is a venti double-shot of espresso with seven pumps of syrup, then by all means, do it!

I’m aware that not everyone has time or money for this sort of thing, and really, I could have spent my $7 on something more important. But I decided today that I wanted a coffee. I wanted a sweet treat. And I damn sure wanted some quiet time to start reading a new book. So I did it.

When faced with no time for baking, no more energy for family and work obligations, and the need to blog about something, I came up with the following recipe:

Book.

Comfy chair.

Venti Skinny Caramel Macchiato.

Cranberry Bliss Bar.

No phone calls.

No TV.

No stress for half an hour (that’s right, I didn’t even stay for a whole hour!)

It may not seem like a lot, but it works for me. 🙂

Take care and happy reading.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sharing Recipes #3 – Not Quite a Recipe

  1. donalde

    sounds like a great morning to me hope you can have many more of them my only suggestion is go head and splurge do a whole hour next time

  2. Lady Falcon

    My husband had to work this past Saturday. My 9 year old daughter and I slept in…she made it to 9:30….I made it to 11:00. I can’t remember the last time I got to sleep that long. It was truly amazing. So, I absolutely concur that taking time for yourself is a wonderful Christmas recipe / present for yourself.

  3. Miriam

    I loved this blog, your new recipe and the picture. I, too, hate the stress we put on ourselves during the holiday season, and I’m always pleased to hear about people taking a break and giving the gift of some quiet time to themselves. Wishing you nothing but good things in the New Year.

  4. Mounds

    Good for you. We should both go to SBUX together and read aloud from the new HoN book. I’d go with the fudge whateverwhatever bar, but whatevs. 😉

    Call me!

Leave a Reply

