Merry Christmas.

Here we are, ’tis the day/night before. Who’s ready?!? I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this holiday season. I’ve decided to write today, a day early, because tomorrow, I’ll be busy. Obviously. 🙂 Today is a day for laundry, last minute prep work, and tidying. I’m also finishing up a few things for my holiday next week so I don’t have to do any of it tomorrow, when I’d rather be eating chocolate and playing games with my family. Of course, this also means I don’t have time to bake for you. Again. Instead, I thought I’d write about my favourite Christmas movies and shows.

We all have them. Some of yours might be new. Maybe they’re old. Maybe they’re not the typical Christmas or holiday movie. Here’s my top five list.

5.) Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer. The old stop-motion animation one with Burl Ives as Sam the snowman, who narrates. I just love this one. And now, with my nephew of an age to appreciate these shows and traditions, he enjoys it as much as my brother and I did at his age. I have so much fun seeing Yukon Cornelius and the Abominable Snowman (or Bominable, as my nephew calls him). And who doesn’t love those misfit toys? Such a classic.

4.) Mickey’s Christmas Carol. I love Disney cartoons, having grown up on the old shorts with Mickey, Donald and Goofy. Then to see this cartoon, with all of them, and all the other stars, it was just so great. Who didn’t enjoy seeing Scrooge McDuck learn about the meaning of Christmas? And how awesome was Goofy as Jacob Marley? I just loved this whole cartoon.

3.) A Muppet Family Christmas. Once again, this is a favourite because of growing up watching all the characters involved. I loved watching Sesame Street, The Muppet Show, and most of all, I loved Fraggle Rock. So how could I not love the one Christmas special that brought them all together? AND they added a wise-cracking snowman, just to make it that much better. Really, this is a fun show all about being with those closest to you over the holidays. I can wish for nothing more in my own life, so I can definitely appreciate a show that captures that sentiment.

2.) Love Actually. This movie is a holiday movie wrapped up in a romance and sprinkled with comedy and drama. I love this movie. From the first time I saw it, I was in love. And the movie is all about love, and how many different forms there are of love. From the love between a man and woman, to the love between old and dear friends, to the love between a father and son. It’s such a wonderful movie for the holidays and I’d recommend it to anyone who hasn’t yet seen it. You’ll also laugh your ass off over Billy Mack’s antics (He’s played by Bill Nighy, who is a fantastic actor).

1.) Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas. There isn’t a Christmas or holiday season when I don’t remember watching this cartoon. I love the narration by Boris Karloff, and my family even had a dog named Max – he passed away a year ago but is still missed. The Grinch is such a wonderful show about how Christmas isn’t about shopping and toys and even the bright wrapping and ribbons. It’s about being with those you love and celebrating your gifts in life. Whenever I watch or listen to this one now, I always get choked up.

So I’m going to leave you with these, the beautiful words from the end of The Grinch that remind me of how lucky I am and how wonderful this time of year really is.

Merry Christmas, take care and happy reading.

“Welcome Christmas, bring your cheer, cheer to all Whos, far and near. Christmas day is in our grasp, so long as we have hands to clasp. Christmas day will always be just as long as we have we. Welcome Christmas, while we stand, heart to heart and hand in hand.”

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Merry Christmas.

  1. donalde

    hope you and your family have a most wonderful and joyous Christmas

  2. Lady Falcon

    I love those movies too. I also love watching “Irving Berlin’s White Christmas” the one with Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, and Rosemary Clooney. It is one of my favorites. It might be because I’m such a nut for military movies or because I like musicals….lol.

    My second favorite that I try to watch every year is “The Sound of Music”. I cry right along with the children and sing with them too.

    Oh! And can’t forget “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz”. I grew up watching it every American Thanksgiving.

    I hope you had a wonderful Holiday and got to see all your family. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

  3. Pingback: These are a few of my favorite things: Christmas Movies | housegirlhaley

Leave a Reply

