Nothing But All-Stars

It’s been a lovely, relaxing weekend so far for me. I’ve done some writing/editing – quite an accomplishment for me, as you all know 😉 – and I’ve been reading a really interesting new book for my next book club gathering. It’s called “The Gargoyle” by Andrew Davidson and I’m 3/4 finished now. It’s different and very well-written. If you’re looking to check out something new, I’d recommend this one. Although, I haven’t read the ending yet so I’ll reserve my final judgment on the book until then. Sometimes the ending can ruin a book you’ve otherwise enjoyed up to that point.

In other news, I’m sure some of you have been following the NFL all year and maybe are going to be hunkering down this evening for the Pro Bowl. I’m looking forward to the Super Bowl next weekend, as the outcome for that game seems so uncertain. Should be a good match-up.

For my part though, I’m obviously more interested in the NHL All-Star festivities. Every year, I enjoy the timing of my birthday and the All-Star weekend. This year, my birthday fell on a Thursday and that was the night of the pond hockey-style player draft for the two opposing teams. And of course, who do I share my birthday with? Only the Great One, Wayne Gretzky. Of course, he’s 51 to my…much younger age. 🙂

In my opinion, the All-Star game itself isn’t terribly exciting. Sure, it’s kind of fun to see so many superstars in one place, and it’s entertaining to see them run up such high scores – maybe not for the goalies, but hey, it’s just a fun game, right? For me, the fun part of All-Star weekend is the Skills competition.

That is where they’re allowed to have the most fun, where they’re more relaxed and more likely to crowd-please with their antics and talent. And this year, the best part was listening to Carey Price, goalie for the Montreal Canadiens. He’d been miced up for the competition and also had a radio connection to the TV announcers, so they were able to ask him questions and get his feedback about other players. It was fun, and different, for sure.

Of course, all this is just procrastination for my own writing, even if I did consider – briefly! – writing an “Ice” story about the All-Star weekend. 🙂 I’m always trying to work on something and I’m still trying to get back into a rhythm of some kind. Easier said than done, I suppose. It’ll happen but in the mean time, I’ll keep watching hockey and I’ll keep teasing you about new stories.

Like this one I’ve been contemplating for a couple months now… It starts with… Well, I don’t think I’ll say. Don’t want to give you a teaser only to make you wait for the full story. 😀

As always, take care and happy reading.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nothing But All-Stars

  1. I caught some of the skills competition — had to love Kane in the Superman cape. And how about Chara and the slap shot? Wow. Will unfortunately miss the game, or most of it, today — 4pm is not a great time. Glad you’re having fun, and happy birthday!

  2. Lady Falcon

    lmbo…you stinking teaser! I love it even if I am complaining. There is nothing more fun than anticipation. lol Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

