Sunday Sneak Peek

Happy Sunday to all, near and far. I’m sitting here, watching the third playoff game between the Nashville Predators and the Detroit Red Wings. Naturally, I’m cheering for Nashville over Detroit. (Boo to the Red Wings!) LOL. And this is shaping up to be another exciting match-up between the two teams.

OH! Close call for Nashville. OK, guys, time to tighten up that defense. Ah, penalty for Detroit now. Go Preds!

Anyway, as I was saying, it’s a nice lazy Sunday. Maybe I didn’t say that. Well, I am now. I have very low energy levels today, as last night was a late one – SHOOT the dang puck! – but I still might be able to get some writing done. I actually did finish another short story this week, on Tuesday, and I submitted it to Lit that evening. For whatever reason – damn, penalty to the Preds – they haven’t posted it yet. I’m hoping it’ll be up by tomorrow now, but who knows? They haven’t taken this long to post something of mine in a long time. Oh well. Here’s a sneak preview, if you’d care to read it 😉 :

(Oh, OK, before I copy and paste the sneak preview, I have to tell you something. My three year old nephew is sitting beside me, watching the game. I asked if he likes hockey and who he cheers for and he said, “the Flames.” I find this especially hilarious and awesome because his father – my brother – is a HUGE fan of the Oilers. HA!)

All right, here’s the preview for real. Enjoy!:

Exhaling on another sigh, I inched the car forward. Not for the first time, I wished I was driving a tank so I could just roll over everyone who got between me and my man.

The phone on my center console jangled and I jumped, startled. I couldn’t stop the silly grin from spreading across my face when I saw who was calling.

I engaged the Bluetooth and answered. “Hey, baby.”

“Hey you.”

My stomach did a somersault and I let out another sigh, this one contented instead of stressed. “Hi.”

His deep chuckle rolled through the line and eased me even further. God, I did love this man. “Where are you, angel?”

“On the interstate. There’s something going on up ahead and I’m stuck in about a hundred miles of parked cars.”

“Aw, are you serious?”

“Yeah.”

“Damn, I was hoping you’d be at home, waiting for me.”

I laughed. “Oh yeah? And what? I’d have dinner ready or something?”

“Sure. And you’d be wearing nothing but your apron and those lacy panties I got you for your birthday.”

My face warmed, in spite of the fact that I was alone in the car. He had that effect on me. In another few seconds, the heat would spread through the rest of my body. I squirmed, more eager than a minute ago to be home with him.

“I can put the panties on when I get home.”

He let out a short laugh. “You mean to tell me you’re not wearing any right now?”

I giggled. “Did I say that?”

“Don’t toy with me. I’ll make you pay for it later.”

“In that case, I’m not telling you anything about my panties. Nothing at all.” I settled back in my seat and eased my foot off the gas pedal for a few seconds as traffic moved an inch. “I won’t tell you how I haven’t worn panties all day. I won’t tell you that I’m wearing that skirt you love me to wear with no panties at all.”

“So… you’re saying you’re horny.”

I laughed. “Sure. If that’s how you interpret that.”

“Why else would you leave your panties off?”

“Easy access? While I’m stuck in traffic?”

A moment of silence passed.

“Jesus, baby. Are you trying to kill me?”

I smothered another giddy laugh with one hand. “Why? Where are you?”

“I’m about a block away from home and getting myself off.”

I groaned. “I wish I was home.”

“Me too, angel. I’ve missed you.”

“I’ve missed you, too.” I squeezed the steering wheel. “Man, this sucks!”

“Calm down. The traffic will start to move and you’ll be home in no time.” I heard the sound of his vehicle accelerating. “I’ll get dinner ready and wait for you to get home.”

“Oh, don’t wait on me, Christian. I could be another hour still.”

“Then I’ll eat in an hour. I want to spend dinner with my pretty girl.”

I grinned. “Your pretty girl? Don’t you mean woman?”

“You’re my pretty girl and my sexy woman.” He paused. “You’re my everything, Maggie.”

My heart leapt within my chest and I felt warmth suffuse my entire body. A different warmth than a few minutes ago. The kind of warmth Christian made me feel when he said these things to me.

“I love you, angel.”

“I love you, too.” My voice was thick with sudden emotion.

“I’ll see you soon.”

“Yeah. Bye, baby.”

I hit ‘end’ and glared at the line of cars in front of me. I closed my eyes and willed them all to disappear. A few seconds later, I was forced to accept that my will wouldn’t be enough. I sighed and tried to relax. There was no point in working myself up over it.

My patience wasn’t tested again. In ten minutes, we started to move forward instead of just inching. After another five minutes, I was driving at regular speed again and I let out a whoop of excitement when my next exit popped into view up ahead.

Hopefully this is enough of a sneak peek to tide you over until Lit posts the full thing. If they don’t, I’ll be tempted to just post it here, but we’ll see how it goes.

Oh and when you can, head to Literotica and check out the message boards for the 2011 Reader’s Choice Awards. The nominations are open for the special categories from now until the end of June. If you have a user ID on Lit, you can nominate characters, writers or editors. Of course… I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t love some nominations. 😉 But it’s also fun to keep an eye on the boards as the nominations go on. Sometimes you’ll come across a nominated story or author you’ve never heard of and maybe discover something new to read.

All right. This is pretty much all you’re going to get out of me today, I think. I’m feeling like writing some more and that should come first, right? I hope you all are having a nice day, evening, morning, whatever.

Take care and happy reading and Go Preds! 😀

3 Comments

Filed under Free Stories, Writing

3 responses to “Sunday Sneak Peek

  1. Lady Falcon

    Oh! I’m reading this on Tuesday after you put it up so I am headed to Lit as soon as I finish this comment. As I am reading the excerpt all I can think of is a “Final Destination” scene like as soon as they hang the phone up one of them is killed in a freak weird accident. I’m pretty sure I’m wrong because you don’t typically write that kind of stuff but, well,…I got to go read it! 🙂

  2. Shannon

    This story is still not up on Lit. Maybe you should try to re-submit it or post it here. Either was can’t wait to read it.

Leave a Reply

