“To Sleep, Perchance to Dream…”

I’ve written before about where some of my story ideas come from. I don’t think I’ve ever tried to write about what I see or experience in my dreams though. The only reason this is on my mind today is because I had a very strange, very vivid dream last night. It wasn’t a nightmare, but it was weird. I had to tell my guy about it first thing this morning because he starred in it – no, it wasn’t that kind of dream. 😉 It was just plain strange.

It got me to thinking, not for the first time, that I should maybe start keeping a dream journal. I can write down any and all scenes or events that I recall from my dreams, benign or nightmare. Hey, either type could have the potential for a good story. The problem with my dreams, is that they often take on a sci-fi or fantastic theme.

As you, my regular readers, know, I haven’t written anything in either of those themes. I did write “Body of Water”, which I put into the non-human category but now that I think about it, I think that may have been something that started as a dream. Hmm…

Anyway, I don’t always have wild and crazy dreams like the one from last night. Sometimes my dreams are pretty mundane. I’m flying, swimming, going to work, normal everyday things. Of course, one time, I dreamt I was in a grocery store looking for chicken wings in the produce section, and becoming increasingly agitated when I couldn’t find any.

I also wonder about what my dreams mean. Some say that every dream does mean something. Your life is complicated, you’re facing a decision, you’re stressed, missing something or someone, etc. Tell me. What the hell does it mean when you go looking for freaking chicken wings in the freaking vegetable aisle?!?

OK, so not every dream would make a good story. At least, not a good, serious story. But my dream from last night has the potential for a good story, which is why I won’t tell you anything about it, just in case I do decide to write it down. 🙂

My dreams are often vague and low on details as well. I can jump from one scene to another with no apparent connection. I don’t know if I’m dreaming the same sequence or if my mind has moved on to something new entirely. That would make it difficult to write into a story as well.

Maybe I can write about the dreams I have but it would involve filling in the blanks. Not that that is so different from what I do now anyway. Often, I picture one thing or create one or two lines of dialogue that somehow become a full-fledged story. I think I’ve written of that before. I can be having a conversation with someone, or just working at one of my jobs – usually my part-time job, where I work solo more often than not, leaves a lot of time for daydreaming – and I want to write it down. I see a billboard or movie trailer and I don’t want to copy it, but something about it, the colors, the music, whatever, triggers something in my mind. Then, a few months, or years, later, I have a story. I’m not saying it always happens like that, or that I’d start to rely solely on my dreams for story ideas. I guess all I’m trying to do is show you that ideas can come from everywhere. Even our dreams, which we all know can be a little strange at times. Perhaps you’ve had a dream or two in your lifetime that you’ve thought would make a good story. Maybe you should share one day. 😉

I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend. It’s a long weekend here, and the weather has been beautiful. As always, take care and happy reading.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to ““To Sleep, Perchance to Dream…”

  1. That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writers Wanted

  2. Hmmm. Looks like you might have been spammed above.

    I don’t dream much — or to be more correct, I do not remember my dreams. I can name about four I’ve had in my life, two of which correctly predicted the sex of each of my kids. 🙂 If dreams work for you, that’s great. But if I kept a dream journal, it’d be blank and thin.

    • Lady Falcon

      Same here, I don’t remember my dreams. As I’m not certifiable yet then I must me dreaming. I can remember vividly each occurrence of my recurring childhood nightmare about snakes. And I can remember the dream I had about becoming Phoenix from the “X-men” comic books. I used to collect them and I used to dream often about becoming a mutant. Sometimes I was Kitty and could phase through stuff but usually I was telekinetic and telepathic. I miss remembering my dreams so, I’m jealous that you, Tamara, do. 🙂

  3. Nic

    http://www.dreammoods.com

    Yes, I know it sounds cliche, looking up your dreams on a website. But a friend of mine, who always has the most bizarre dreams, told me about this website, and I’ve used it a few times. And it was pretty accurate. The weirdest things in my dreams, even those recurring ones, started to make sense.

Leave a Reply

