What Would You Suggest?

It’s been another long week, full of work, more work and not enough sleep. Never enough sleep. Never enough time for writing either, it seems. I would love to win the lottery and stay home to write and read all day. I’ll have to settle for the coming long weekend, and sleeping in for three days instead of the rest of my life. 🙂 C’est la vie.

I am once again, low on energy and low on ideas for what to discuss today, so I’m going to go with a reliable old stand-by.

I recently finished reading “Fifty Shades of Grey” as you may know. If you didn’t notice it last week, check out my first book review on this blog. Currently, I’m reading a novel by Linda Holeman, an author I recently discovered. She’s a Canadian and a fellow native of Winnipeg. I didn’t know that when I read the first novel I’d ever read by her over a year ago. The first one of her novels I’d read was called “The Saffron Gate.” It was wonderful and I couldn’t put it down once I’d started it. Since then, every time I’m in a book store, I look for more of her books. I’ve looked her book list up and I know she’s written more but I never could seem to find any in store. Then, just the other day, when I was still slogging through 50 SOG, I was browsing at the bookstore and found “In A Far Country.” I bought it right away and have barely been able to stop reading enough to work and sleep and other boring stuff like that. I’m nearly done and maybe next week, I’ll post another book review. 🙂 Either way, I’ll tell you now, I recommend her novels. I know I’ve only read two – or very soon will have – but as I already mentioned, they had my complete attention from the first page. In fact, even pausing long enough to write this week’s blog entry is more time than I wanted to take away from reading “In A Far Country”, especially considering I’m into the last quarter of the novel.

I will say this about her books though, they seem to be about women going through the worst kinds of hell you can imagine. They are serious, intense novels and I wouldn’t attempt to read them unless you’re prepared for that.

That being said, I still think you should read them. 🙂

Which brings me to my real question of the day: What would you recommend for someone looking for something to read? New, old, whatever genre you prefer or just finished reading. Whatever favorites or classic you can think of, which would you suggest for another avid reader? Better yet, what are you reading right now and is it any good?

I’m not short on authors to read and I have a stack of unread books but I always love to hear about what other readers enjoy. I’m sometimes pleasantly surprised by something someone else has suggested. I don’t know if you’re the same as me or not, always looking for another good read, but if you are, now is the time to share.

So… What do you recommend?

Most of all, take care and happy reading!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

3 responses to “What Would You Suggest?

  1. Lady Falcon

    Oh, wow, what a loaded question. I’ll take the easy and boring one first. I am reading two books right now. One is Economics for Bankers and the final exam is this week. Thank goodness. The second is Introduction to Marketing and I won’t be finished with that one till November. I have restricted myself from reading for pleasure till November because I know myself well enough that I will have a very poor grade in my classes if I have a choice of what to read. That being said, I have snuck in a few of my favorite Lit authors’ new posts.

    When I am reading for pleasure…(I’ll keep it short) and they are in no particular order.
    1. Stephanie Laurens (http://www.stephanielaurens.com/index.html) for historical romances
    2 & 3. Sherrilyn Kenyon (http://www.sherrilynkenyon.com/) and Christine Feehan (http://www.christinefeehan.com/index.php) for paranormal with an edge. For Christine I stick with her “Sea Haven” series and her “Dark Series”.
    4. Kate Macalister (http://katiemacalister.com/) for comedic paranormal romance.

  2. Susan

    If you like 50 Shades then I highly recommend Cherise Sinclair’s Shadowland Series but I love all of her books. They are erotica/BDSM theme, paranormal and one sci-fi. I’m not a fan of reading sci-fi but she made it work and I enjoyed the book very much. I would also recommend Indie authors Nicky Charles (she’s Canadian too). She writes paranormals. Be sure to read in order The Mating, The Keeping and The Finding. If you like bad ass alpha werewolves, you’ll love her books. Word of caution her books are always free but she’s been having trouble with someone selling pirated versions on Amazon. Do NOT buy her books look for the free version and report the other as pirated. I just recently discovered S.C. Stephens another Indy author. Her books Thoughtless and Effortless are very good. She writes characters and stories that pull you in and stay with you long after you finish the book. They are contemporary romances written in 1st person POV. Her book Collusion Course will take you on a very emotional journey, be prepare to laugh and cry. As far as mainstream books I enjoy Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Linda Howard, Julie Garwood, Judith McNaught, Nora Roberts and Sandra Brown. JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood Series is fantastic. Lora Leigh’s Breed Series is a great series along with her Nauti books. Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooter Series is great if you like hot Navy seals and FBI agents. Be sure to read them in order though. Kay Hooper’s Bishop series is about a special group in the FBI that are psychics and use their different abilities to catch serial killers etc. A very good series. Can you tell I love to read 🙂

  3. Nic

    Well, I’ve recently started reading paranormal again after many years, and Im actually enjoying it. Christine Feehan, Gena Showalter and Richelle Mead are authors I’ve read recently, and whom I’ve enjoyed. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is also good, not paranormal, just normal, but good with a lot of laughs.

Leave a Reply

