Book Club

Hello all. I’ve decided to do something a little different this week. I’ve mentioned in the past that I belonged to a book club. It disbanded a few months ago though. It just became harder and harder to get together, what with babies and job changes, moving to new cities, relationships, renovations, etc. I still see the ladies on occasion but we haven’t gathered for a book since February or March, I think. I miss it. I miss seeing the ladies but we can get together any time and ninety percent of the time, we got together for book club and spent ten minutes out of four hours talking about the book. However, you all know how big a reader I am and how I love to share what I’m reading.

So, instead of occasionally making a blog entry out of what I’m reading or what I’ve just read, I’ve decided to see if anyone would be interested in joining a book club. 🙂

I tend to go through a book in about a week, usually. Less time if it’s really interesting or short. More, if I’m busy. But now that I’m back to working only one job, I have more time to do what I enjoy. I think if those interested can manage it, we’ll ‘gather’ once a month and discuss the book selection. After that, I’ll draw a name for the one who can pick the next month’s book selection. There are no limits on the books to be selected. It can be from any genre, fiction, non-fiction, best-seller, something less popular. The only thing to keep in mind is how available it would be. It can’t be something that no one can get their hands on, either through book stores, on-line or in libraries.

I was also thinking we wouldn’t need to limit it to books. Maybe some of you aren’t as big a reader as I am, although since you’re hear reading my blog and are familiar with my novels or on-line stories, you must enjoy reading somewhat. In any case, there was one lady in my book club who never read a book, or selected one. She definitely was just in it for the visits and the snacks. 😉 Remembering that made me think that maybe once in a while, we could pick and discuss movies. I think it might even be fun to have a book/movie month, where we select a book that is also a movie. For example, I just finished reading The Help, by Kathryn Stockett and I’d seen the movie some time ago. Those who choose to could read the book, or you could watch the movie, or do both. I’ll tell you now, the movie adaptation for that one was one of the best I’ve ever seen. It followed the book details very closely, while only changing up the chronological order in a few spots. Also, that was a hugely popular book and movie and would be readily available in all areas so no one would miss out on reading or watching it.

I haven’t quite figured out exactly how the discussions will work but I’m checking on a few different options. For now, if you’re interested, please send me a private email/message using the Contact Tamara tab here on my blog, at the top. In the next week or so, I’ll email everyone back with the first selection and the date for a first book club meeting.

I’m not looking to get crazy here, or make any statements about book reading preferences. I’m not Oprah and I read everything. I would hope that everyone who’s interested and involved will have an open mind as well. I will make some rules about behaviour and language during our discussions because, above all, I want this to be a fun activity for everyone involved.

So I’ll leave you now to think about whether you’d like to join in or not. Once I get started, I won’t stop anyone else from joining either. You can come and go as you please and if there’s no longer any interest – or any interest to start with! – then I won’t bother with it. I’ll continue to throw in mentions of my reading material in future blogs and wait to hear from you. 😉

Until next time, take care and happy reading.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Club

2 responses to “Book Club

  1. Lady Falcon

    Very cool idea.

  2. mac

    Agree with Lady Falcon … it’s a great idea … and a private chat room would be a great way to have discussion. I would not be able to participate until early 2013 because I’m getting ready to retire, and that means extra work on the job to get ready to turn things over to others.

    Over the past several months while you and PennLady seem to have been taking a break, I’ve enjoyed downloading and reading from the Gutenberg Project some romance novels written in the 1800’s … especially enjoyed those by Mary J. Holmes.

    I hope the book club ‘takes off’ … 🙂

Leave a Reply

