Sharing Recipes #4 – Cinnamon Loaf

It’s that time of year again and I thought I’d repeat what I did last December. I’ll be sharing recipes over the next couple of weeks. I didn’t really intend to share recipes again but there’s just something about this time of year. It has something to do with the weather getting colder, and me wanting to fill the air with warm chocolate scents, or cinnamon and sugar. I like to see my family lingering over the racks of cooling cookies or squares and asking how long until they can do an ‘official’ taste-test. The holiday season is also a time for wanting to share and bring families closer together. What better way to do that then bake something for everyone to enjoy?

Today, I’ll share one of my absolute favorite recipes, for any time of year. I like to make this in big loaf pans or small, I’ll freeze it in chunks and take out some when I’m craving it, or I’ll gorge myself on a whole loaf over just a few days. It’s a great treat or addition to a lunch box and the wonderful smell of baking cinnamon is a comfort shared by many, I’m sure.

I hope you enjoy!

Cinnamon Loaf

As I mentioned above, you can do one loaf in a regular sized loaf pan. That’s what this recipe calls for. However, if you decide to bake it in the mini-loaf pan (one that has 8 small loaves) or the medium-sized pans that I ended up using today, you will adjust your bake times. One large loaf takes about an hour to bake but the medium ones, maybe 2/3 that time, and the mini ones, even less. You just have to watch the time closely and do the toothpick check periodically so you don’t overcook them.

Ingredients:

Cinnamon ripple:

1-1/2 tsp – cinnamon

1/4 cup – brown sugar

Mix together in a small bowl or dish and set aside.

Cinnamon loaf

2 cups – all purpose flour

1 tsp – baking powder

1/2 tsp – baking soda

1/2 tsp – salt

Mix dry ingredients together in bowl. Set aside.

1/4 cup – butter or margarine

1 cup – brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp –  vanilla

Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time and then the vanilla. Mix until smooth.

DSCF0304

1 cup – sour milk

(Note: to make sour milk, pour 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice into 1 cup measuring cup. Add milk until 1 cup is filled. Let sit for 1 minute to allow vinegar or lemon juice to ‘sour’ the milk)

DSCF0306

Add dry mix to butter/sugar mixture in small portions, mixing well. Add sour milk in between small portions of dry mix until everything is blended and smooth.

DSCF0309

Pour half of batter into greased loaf pan. Sprinkle half of the cinnamon and brown sugar mixture over batter in pan. Spoon remaining batter over top. Smooth carefully over cinnamon mixture. Sprinkle remaining cinnamon/brown sugar mixture over the top. Swirl knife through the batter in the pan to create marbling effect.

DSCF0313DSCF0315

Bake in oven preheated to 350F (175C) for 55-60 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cool, cut and serve.

Finished C LoafFinished C Loaf 2

As you can see from my pictures, I had a mishap with the medium-sized dishes. Apparently I was too generous with the batter and had some spillage. Rest assured, they tasted just as good!

Finished Loaf 5

Take care and happy reading/eating!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sharing Recipes #4 – Cinnamon Loaf

  1. heelsandchampagne

    Absolutely agree with you, tis the season for baked deliciousness filling your kitchen and the air in your home. Ill give this a go next weekend on the ’25days of baking’ which changes gears from cookies to loaves. By the way, I’m doing a cookie giving at work every week leading up to Christmas, and am starting it off with your chocolate chip cookies. That recipe is the best I’ve ever tried…so thank you 🙂

  2. David

    Here’s a personal favorite of mine:
    1 lb cranberries medium chopped (food processor works well)
    1 12 oz can crushed pinapple drained
    10-12 oz miniture marshmallows
    2 cups sugar
    1 12 oz Cool Whip

    Put processed cranberries in sugar and let stand AT LEAST one hour
    Add drained pinapple let stand an additonal hour
    Add marshmallows and cool whip
    Stir together, put in 9×13 pan and freeze over night.
    You may cut it into portions or simply dish it up. It’s as good as any dessert you may serve but we call it a salad. (Sure!)
    I got this receipe from a lady down the street who is now 102 years old and still going strong.

Leave a Reply

