For the Love of a Good Book

You all know how much I love reading. It’s second only to writing as one of my great passions in life. Hmm, maybe third, because number one is… Well, none of your business. 🙂 I do love to read. What I love to read is a varied selection. Romance, obviously, but I also enjoy fantasy, some science fiction, I love reading historical dramas and some adventure stories. I know I’ve mentioned some of the classics before and I do love reading author’s modern takes on the classics. Basically, just like trying new foods, I’ll read anything new once. It’s very rare that I’ll come across a book I just can’t finish, either because it’s boring or bad writing or whatever the reason.

I did enjoy very much belonging to my book club. It’s been some time since we all got together – almost a year now – but it was a fun activity and it forced me to try reading new or different books that I might not have selected for myself. In the end, I found several good books and/or authors through book club that I would suggest to anyone asking for a recommendation.

I also love to share books that I’ve read and enjoyed. The thing I miss most about the book club gatherings was discussing the book. No one in my close acquaintance reads as much as I do – probably because their lives are all busier than mine, what with all their offspring and such. 😉 – and I miss talking about what we loved about the books or didn’t love. I also enjoy discussing writing and all that goes with it. There are even fewer people I know who also write but I do still converse regularly with certain people about that – *cough, cough* Eve *cough*. 😀

I was thinking about why I love discussing books so much with people who have read the same thing. I suppose I’m always hoping someone else loved the same things that I did about it. I don’t know if it’s just me, but when a book is really good, I am completely swept away. I disappear into the scenery and plot, I relate to the characters and desperately want to see them through whatever conflict they’re wrapped up in. After I’m done, I want to talk about it. I want to gush about the language or discuss the ending. I suppose that’s why I sometimes will review a book on my blog. At least that’s one outlet for me. 🙂

Also, in discussing the book, even rereading passages from them, I get to relive it all. I’ll never get that feeling back of discovering each moment or phrase for the first time, but I can feel like I’m back in the story. When it’s a really good book, I want to share it with everyone, so they can maybe feel just as involved as I was with it. Sometimes my friends enjoy the books as much as I did, and sometimes not. If not, I move on and try to push the book – ahem, I mean, recommend, the book to someone else. 😉

Is there anyone else out there who loves sharing books as much as I do? I love knowing I’ve shared a book with someone who might love it as much as I did. I wonder if any of you have read books or authors I’ve recommended on my blog in the past couple years. Did you enjoy them?

Let’s see, here’s a quick list of recent books I’ve enjoyed enough to share. They’re from all different genres, as you’ll see. Maybe you can find some of these in your local library or in digital form for your ereader. If you read any of them, let me know how you like them. I love to hear that my recommendations might have been as enjoyable to someone else as much as they were for me.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone, by Laini Taylor

This is a young adult fantasy story but it’s so much more mature and wonderfully written than a lot of offerings out there right now. I was amazed at how detailed and involved this story was, without bogging the story down. The cliffhanger ending made me wish I’d already had the second book in the series in my hands.

Alice, I Have Been, Melanie Benjamin

This is an historical fiction, based on the actual life of Alice Liddell, the inspiration for Alice of “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.” I picked up this book in the bargain section of Indigo one day, and I loved it. It was touching, and engaging, and a wonderful fictionalized biography of someone who’d once lived.

Midnight in Austenland, by Shannon Hale

Although this book is a sort of follow up to another, (“Austenland”, which I also loved very much) you don’t need to read the other first to enjoy this one. It’s not a retelling of an Austen story but it has qualities you would find in Jane Austen’s novels. Humor, romance, a good story. I finished reading this story in about two hours. I just could not put it down.

The Map of Time, by Felix J. Palma

It’s difficult to classify what kind of book this is. Part historical fiction, part science ficiton, part mystery. All good. It was written in a different sort of style, but that may have been partly due to the English translation, from the original Spanish. This is almost three different stories, rolled into one, but they’re intertwined so closely that you don’t know until the end what is really true. A great story.

So there you have it. Let me know if you ever get around to checking these books out.

Take care and happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

