The More, The Merrier

By now, you all know that I enjoy writing in all different genres. Most of the time, whatever the genre, I still focus on romance. Fantasy, non-human, suspense and all the rest, I always love writing about a relationship going through the stages to some sort of happily ever after ending. I haven’t come close to touching on all genres but I try something different each time and enjoy the challenge of

I came across an article on Slate.com the other day about polygamy and whether or not the average person – in Western society – would give it a shot, if it were legal. Of course, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen, whether it’s because of religious choices or other personal preferences but for the most part, the traditional view of relationships is one-on-one. I’m not talking about marriages – that’s a whole other can of worms I’m not willing to discuss here right now. 🙂

I’ll confess, my view of a desirable relationship is the traditional one. I’ve pretty much only ever fantasized, dreamt of or imagined being in a monogamous relationship with a man. I’m not saying I’ve never once wondered what it would be like to be with another man at the same time or a woman or anything like that, but my preferences have always taken me down the traditional road. There’s nothing wrong with that, just like there’s nothing wrong with being with more than one person, whether it’s in a relationship or as a fling. So long as everyone involved are consenting adults capable of making those choices.

It does make me wonder how complicated these polygamous and multi-partner relationships would be. One-on-one is complicated enough, in my opinion. Can you imagine what it would be like to maintain the same level of intimacy and trust with more than one person, without ever letting yourself play favorites? Maybe I’m oversimplifying. Hey, every relationship is not exactly simple. I can attest to that. The basics are there, trust, honesty, love, some kind of emotional bond, but I find it hard enough to maintain with one person, let alone two.

Also, I’m not the kind of person who could endure an open relationship. Not because I don’t trust my partner absolutely, or that I’m a jealous person by nature. I suppose it’s because I’m a possessive person and don’t want to share. 🙂 I also know I could never find what I share with my SO with anyone else. I may not have had a hundred relationships before finding The One, but I had enough to know what was wrong for me. Again, that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t work for someone else. I just know what’s right or wrong for me.

Back to my original thought, how could I write something like an open relationship in a romantic way? Is it even possible? It might be. It might not. It’s definitely something I wouldn’t mind trying in the future. But what scenario would even be best to try? Two men, one woman? Two women, one man? Two and two? I wouldn’t even know where to start. How does a relationship like that begin?

My guess would be that they begin much the same way as I write my hetero-monogamous romance stories. Meet-cute at a grocery store or something, talk, laugh and date. And then… Well, that’s where I’d probably be at a bit of a loss. More so than usual. 🙂 Hey, I love a challenge!

In other news, it’s been a horrible week for me. Rest assured, I’m OK, my loved ones are OK, but a large bombshell was dropped on me and set me back a bit. Ah well. How would I know when things are OK if once in a while, things were completely messed up? I’m also going to be on vacation over the next couple of weekends and I’m not sure if I’ll have access to regular internet. If I do, I’ll try to stay in touch. If not, then I’ll talk to you in a few weeks.

Take care, and happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

