Fantasy Worlds

When I left home this morning to go grocery shopping, there was a fine cool mist hanging over everything. It was awesome. It filtered the sunlight, giving everything a sort of pinky-yellow glow. I live in a big city but the mist was so low over everything that most of the city seemed to disappear. All I could see were the tops of the surrounding trees on the hills, making it feel like I was in a small town up in the mountains.

It also made me feel like I should stop, sit down and start writing a fantasy story. 🙂 Strange as that sounds, it’s what always comes to mind when the weather is a perfect combination like that. I wrote a lot during the weekends I used to camp with my family. Mornings in the mountains and various other spots around southern Alberta were usually misty or cloudy. You only had a few hours, sometimes less, to enjoy the insulated quiet and the muted light.

When I was younger, I wrote fantasy stories almost exclusively. I used to not want to do research of any kind, so by writing fantasy, I could make up the facts of my fictional world as I went along. Little did I know that often, fantasy worlds were more detailed than others. 🙂 Still, fantasy is my first love. I used to read everything fantastical I could get my hands on. Somewhere around age eleven, I discovered Diana Wynne Jones.(hands-down the best children’s/young adult fantasy writer in recent history. In my opinion anyway.)

I still have a lot of my writing from my early teen years. A lot is incomplete, of course. I didn’t have the discipline to finish everything I started. Ha! Who am I kidding? I still don’t have enough discipline to finish it all. I often consider revisiting my old fantasy worlds and trying to polish them, make them more mature. It’s among my list of things to do. 🙂

However, I do feel the urge now to work on my more recent creation. I started a fantasy story a few weeks ago and I’ve been working on it more than anything else these days. I am aiming to keep it relatively short – by short, I mean less than 60000 words. Hm… 😉 I am enjoying writing in the fantasy realm though, making it up as I go along. I’ve since learned to keep notes so I don’t contradict myself. One thing I always had fun doing for these stories is creating a map. I don’t know why, but it’s just fun to draw some crazy-shaped continent, throw in some rivers and mountains and then write about my characters riding all over the place. I’m a nerd, I know.

I’ll leave you now, so I can go work on it. Hopefully I’ll have something ready to share soon, especially if I can keep it short and sweet. 🙂

I hope you’re all having a nice weekend. I’m feeling much better than I was last weekend, that’s for darn sure. My mouth is still healing but I’m not nearly as sore and sick as I was. I’m in perfect shape for writing all day!

OH! Before I forget, to those of my readers in Canada, if you’re a Doctor Who fan, they’ve started showing a Doctor Who marathon today on the Space Channel. They started at the beginning of the 9th Doctor and every Sunday they’re showing every Doctor Who episode! It’s AWESOME!

OK, now I’m done.

As always, take care and happy reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

